top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTiffany C. Moore

Mom to a Warrior

Updated: Jul 14, 2020


I have 8-year-old twin boys, Dallas and Dylan, who both have a diagnosis of Spinal Muscular Atrophy (SMA) Type 2. My pregnancy was eventful in the sense that I was having twins! I had no complications and delivered the boys on November 29, 2011.


The journey to both boys' diagnoses was uniquely different so I will detail each separately. As a baby, Dallas' development was on target; however, Dwight (my husband) and I thought it was strange that he never would bear weight on his legs. We thought that he was just being "lazy" because he was always content with someone holding him. Around 6 months of age Dallas was able to sit unassisted, and he always had good head control. When Dallas was about 10 months old, he finally started to "army crawl" and even pulled up on his knees. He still would never stand even with assistance. As a mom, I began to panic and stress because Dylan had began to crawl, pull-up and cruise. I noticed that Dallas' muscle tone was very weak and that his hands often trembled. I told Dallas' previous pediatrician my concerns, but he did not take them seriously. He told me that I was only comparing him to Dylan and that he would be fine. As a mother, I knew deep down in my heart that something wasn't right. I obtained a new pediatrician for all of my kids. Shortly after that, Dallas' new pediatrician listened and took my concerns seriously. The new pediatrician immediately referred him to see a neurologist. Before Dallas' neurology appointment, I spent countless hours on the internet trying to diagnosis my child. One day, I did a Google search on "Spinal Muscular Atrophy Type 2 symptoms". I did this because my younger sister Nicole who coincidentally was a twin had died from SMA Type 1 at the age of 10. I knew that Dallas' symptoms were not severe enough to be Type 1 so I researched Type 2. After reading the stories of other children with Type 2, I knew almost immediately that Dallas had Type 2. That day I cried nonstop. Even though I did not have a doctor's diagnosis, Dallas exemplified all of the symptoms. He had shown some progress in the area of gross motor, but then he started to digress. Dallas would no longer attempt to crawl or pull-up. He could not get up into a seated position and if he fell over he could not pull himself up. My heart ached for my baby. On February 21, 2013, during a visit to a neurologist - my worst fear was confirmed. Dallas was informally diagnosed with SMA Type 2. Based on the symptoms that he exhibited and the time frame of his physical digression, the neurologist was confident that he indeed had SMA Type 2. In a blink of an eye, our entire life and expectations for Dallas had completely changed.


Other than his lack of gross motor skills, Dallas is a normal 8-year-old! Dallas uses a power wheelchair for independence. He loves playing video games (Madden and NBA 2K20), reading about basketball and football players and editing videos. Dallas is bright, caring, inquisitive and has keen eye for detail. He enjoys the latest fashions and has self-proclaimed himself as "the hottest man alive". Dallas speaks openly and doesn't mind expressing himself to others. Dallas has not allowed his inability to walk to stop his zest for life. Dallas is definitely a "momma's boy" that always has my back. Although it sometimes overwhelming, I cannot imagine my life without my Sweet Dallas.







323 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page